GuidesOneMux

Claude API Pricing 2026: Claude Opus 4.8 Cost Reference for GPT API Buyers

A practical Claude Opus 4.8 pricing reference for teams comparing Anthropic and GPT API costs, with token-budgeting guidance and OneMux routing considerations.

On this page

Claude Opus 4.8 should be evaluated as a high-cost-per-completion model whose economics depend heavily on how much it writes. For GPT API buyers, the practical question is not whether Claude or GPT has the lower headline input price. It is whether Claude Opus 4.8 produces enough value on the subset of tasks that need it to justify its output-token spend.

The supplied 2026 reference lists Claude Opus 4.8 at $5.00 input and $25.00 output. It also lists GPT-5.2 at $1.75, although the supplied summary does not specify the pricing scope for that GPT figure. Treat that as a directional comparison point, not a like-for-like cost calculation. Evolink’s Claude API pricing guide is the cited external reference for those figures.

Claude Opus 4.8 pricing: the decision in one minute

If your workload is dominated by short classification, extraction, routing, and templated replies, a premium model is usually difficult to justify on price alone. If it involves complex coding, multi-step analysis, high-stakes drafting, or agent turns where a better first response can reduce rework, test Claude Opus 4.8 on a representative sample.

On the OneMux Claude Opus 4.8 model page, the displayed rates are $0.845 input and $4.225 output. The model is available through OneMux unified model routing. Check the live model page and OneMux pricing before committing a production budget, since catalogue rates and provider pricing scopes can change.

The key operating fact is the input/output spread: the listed output rate is five times the listed input rate. A system that allows long completions, verbose agent traces, or repeated self-correction can therefore spend much more on generated text than on the prompt itself.

Cost references: Anthropic source pricing and OneMux catalogue pricing

These figures come from different sources and should not be treated as interchangeable without checking their terms, units, and applicable scope.

Cost referenceClaude Opus 4.8 inputClaude Opus 4.8 outputWhat it tells you
Supplied external 2026 reference$5.00$25.00A published Claude API pricing reference
OneMux model catalogue$0.845$4.225The rates displayed for access through OneMux unified routing

Source note: The external figures are supported by Evolink’s 2026 Claude API pricing guide. OneMux catalogue figures are supported by the Claude Opus 4.8 model listing. Neither number alone answers what your application will spend.

How GPT API buyers should compare Claude Opus 4.8

A GPT API comparison becomes useful when every candidate handles the same prompts, tool calls, context, completion cap, and evaluation criteria. Comparing published input prices while ignoring output tokens can push a team toward the wrong model for a long-form workflow.

Use this cost structure for each request:

request_cost = (input_tokens × input_rate) + (output_tokens × output_rate)

For a monthly estimate:

monthly_cost = requests_per_month × average_request_cost

Keep token units consistent with the rate card you are using. If a price is quoted per million tokens, divide the token count by 1,000,000 before multiplying. Do not combine an input price from one provider or route with an output price from another.

Test the token mix, not just the model

Build a sample that mirrors production rather than relying on a handful of impressive prompts:

  • Developers: include repository context, tool schemas, error logs, and expected patch sizes. Measure successful test runs and repair turns.
  • Founders and operators: include the actual decision memos, sales calls, or internal reports that create recurring spend. Set a maximum acceptable cost per completed workflow.
  • Marketers: test briefs, brand constraints, revision prompts, and final word counts. Long first drafts can turn output pricing into the dominant line item.
  • Support teams: separate triage from resolution. A lower-cost model may classify and retrieve well, while a stronger model handles the smaller set of difficult cases.
  • International buyers: estimate cost using token counts, then convert only the finalized budget to local currency. Exchange rates, taxes, and payment fees are separate from token pricing.

Track four results together: task pass rate, average input tokens, average output tokens, and retries per successful task. A model that costs more per attempt can still be operationally sensible if it reduces failed handoffs or duplicate work. That conclusion must come from your own evaluation, not a headline pricing table.

Put routing and cost controls in the application design

OneMux gives teams access to leading AI models through one OpenAI-compatible API. Its focus includes model access, routing, keys, spend visibility, credit top-ups, and lower-cost pay-as-you-go usage. That setup is useful when an application needs a premium path without hardwiring every task to one provider.

Start with a narrow routing policy. Reserve Claude Opus 4.8 for tasks where your evaluation shows a material gain, then route routine work to an appropriate lower-cost model. For example, OneMux lists Claude Sonnet 5 as an everyday Claude agent model for coding, planning, browsing, and general work, while DeepSeek V4 Flash is another catalogue option with lower displayed input and output rates. These descriptions are not a substitute for task-specific tests.

A practical policy configuration can be expressed as application logic:

{
  "routes": [
    {
      "task": "complex_review_or_final_escalation",
      "model": "claude-opus-4-8",
      "max_output_tokens": "set_from_evaluation"
    },
    {
      "task": "routine_classification_or_drafting",
      "model": "choose_from_evaluated_lower_cost_models",
      "max_output_tokens": "set_from_evaluation"
    }
  ]
}

The values above are policy placeholders, not OneMux API fields. For integration details, use the OneMux quickstart and the broader OneMux documentation.

Controls that matter more than small price differences

For an Opus-tier route, cost control starts before a request reaches the model:

  1. Set completion limits by task. A concise support resolution and a detailed code review should not share the same output ceiling.
  2. Trim repeated context. Send the documents, tool results, and conversation history needed for the next decision—not every prior artifact by default.
  3. Cap repair loops. Count retries and escalation turns. An agent that repeatedly asks itself to improve an answer can consume output tokens quickly.
  4. Log model, token counts, and outcome together. Spend visibility is only actionable when it is connected to task success.
  5. Review routing monthly. A route that was justified during launch may not remain justified after prompts, retrieval, or workflow design improve.

Conclusion

Claude Opus 4.8 pricing is best handled as a workload-design question. The external 2026 reference places the model at $5.00 input and $25.00 output, while OneMux displays $0.845 input and $4.225 output for its unified-routing catalogue entry. Verify the relevant live terms, then compare models on the same token mix and success criteria.

For GPT API buyers, the durable approach is simple: keep premium reasoning on an evaluated escalation path, cap output intentionally, and use a single integration layer when your product needs access to multiple model options.

Sources

FAQ

How much does Claude Opus 4.8 cost in the supplied 2026 reference?

The supplied source summary lists Claude Opus 4.8 at $5.00 input and $25.00 output. See the cited Evolink guide for that reference.

What are the Claude Opus 4.8 rates listed by OneMux?

The OneMux Claude Opus 4.8 model page lists $0.845 input and $4.225 output. Confirm live pricing and applicable terms on the model page before production use.

Is Claude Opus 4.8 cheaper than a GPT API model?

That cannot be determined from one headline number. Compare each model using the same input tokens, output tokens, completion limits, retries, and task-success criteria. The supplied external summary lists GPT-5.2 at $1.75 but does not specify the pricing scope for that figure.

Can I access Claude models through OneMux?

Yes. OneMux provides access to leading AI models through one OpenAI-compatible API and lists Claude Opus 4.8 in its model catalogue.

Related articles